pastersmarts.blogg.se

Macbook pro 2011 switchresx not activated invalid
Macbook pro 2011 switchresx not activated invalid








macbook pro 2011 switchresx not activated invalid

within a few minutes of simply plugging into the Dell it started to get hot on the surface. Well, I brought the new 16” home and sure enough. I mean the 16” couldn’t possibly have these same heating issues…. The screen was also much smaller than I really wanted, so with these two issues I decided to return the 13” and get the 16”. What the heck?!?!?īut I also had a secondary issue that I would have never guessed, and that was the surface area for my palms to rest for typing was much smaller than the older MacBook Air surface. You could literally feel the heat rising from the surface if you held your palms over the top. Still no luck, the dang thing was still running hot. My first thought was maybe the cable I was using was the issue (usb-c to HDMI) so I tried a different one (usb-c to min display port). And just like others have stated, I wasn’t even running any apps or anything. However, literally within just a few minutes of attaching my Dell the top of the 13” keyboard area and specifically the space above it got really hot. I mean why would it? I had been running a baseline 5 year old air for years without issue. So I bought the new 2020 13” pro last week but had no idea that connecting an external monitor was going to be an issue. It would get warm but never hot enough to become annoying and noticeable. I have been using a 2015 MacBook Air connected to a 2017 Dell UltraSharp UP3017 for several years and never had any major heat issues with the surface of my air and more specifically the keyboard area. I can attest to this fact as I have recently just purchased… and returned them both :( Unfortunately this is all true for not just the 2020 16” model but the new 2020 13” model as well. To summarize: The performance is very nice, but the fans go crazy when the graphics card needs to power an external 4k monitor together with the internal monitor. When I choose 3360 x 1890 in low DPI for the external display, the graphics card relaxes and the system cools down.Įven with HiDPI resolution the load of the system isn’t high and it’s only at around 65☌, but the fans still go crazy at around 4000 - 5000 rpm. The graphics card is struggling, if I use both an external 4k monitor and the MacBook’s internal monitor and use high resolutions, e.g. The MacBook 16 inch is staying cool when I use it only with internal monitor, or if I use my external 4k monitor with MacBook in Clamshell mode (display closed). My tests results match what others where saying: I just got my 16 inch MacBook Pro and have the same issue. Im sure there is plenty more forums/places with discussions.ĭownload istat, and go back to the apple store and tell them it's not working as intended, even connect it to one of the displays in the store, it will happen with any display it pins at 18watt. It has been posted numerous places on forums, and Apple remains silent, or even suggests stupid things like happened to you here in the apple store.ĭ/thread/250878229 When connecting external displays the radeon GPU goes to 18watt and stays there, it should stay at 5-10 watt in idle, like other MBP's with radeon graphics. The replies on this is hilarious, I have the same issue on my MBP 16" it's definitely not a "feature" its a bug clearly. After all, this machine is supposed to be able to run two of the 6k Pro Display XDR monitors.Īnyone else have a 16” that gets hot once it’s plugged into a monitor?

macbook pro 2011 switchresx not activated invalid

I’m coming from a 2014 MBP 13” and I never had heating issues using the same monitor, and I figured it especially shouldn’t happen now that I have a MBP with a dedicated graphics card. They concluded that it’s probably just some sort of display sync thing (can’t remember what they called it), and that because of the design of the MBP, the location of the hardware for that function is up by the Touch Bar and that’s what’s causing the heat. I took it to the Apple store and they ran tests on everything, said all of the sensors are working and the fans are working fine. Once I unplug the monitor, it cools down, and I haven’t experience the MBP getting too hot in any other scenario. It will literally get warm with 1 safari tab open and something like Spotify open. Mind you, this happens even before I start doing anything in CPU or GPU intensive. I have the base model 16”, and whenever I plug it into my 31.5” 1440p Asus monitor (used HDMI via dongle, then tried USB-C to HDMI cable), the area just above the Touch Bar gets pretty warm to the touch, and eventually even the keyboard gets warmer and makes typing on it very discomforting. Hey everyone, was hoping people with the 16” MBP could share if they’re experiencing the same issue or not.










Macbook pro 2011 switchresx not activated invalid